August 10, 2012

Book Club Friday!


This week I'm reviewing:
{via}

In the tradition of Cynthia Heimel and Chelsea Handler, and with the boisterous iconoclasm of Amy Sedaris, Julie Klausner's candid and funny debut I Don't Care About Your Band sheds light on the humiliations we endure to find love—and the lessons that can be culled from the wreckage.
I Don't Care About Your Band posits that lately the worst guys to date are the ones who seem sensitive. It's the jerks in nice guy clothing, not the players in Ed Hardy, who break the hearts of modern girls who grew up in the shadow of feminism, thinking they could have everything, but end up compromising constantly. The cowards, the kidults, the critics, and the contenders: these are the stars of Klausner's memoir about how hard it is to find a man—good or otherwise—when you're a cynical grown-up exiled in the dregs of Guyville.

Honestly, I didn't love it. It's not that it was poorly written or anything but I wasn't nearly as good as I had hoped. This has always been the type of book I've wanted to write - though granted, she had many more stories than I do - and reading about others' love mishaps wasn't as exciting as I thought it would be. [Clearly I may need to re-think my future as an author.] The book was more serious than humourous and at times, kind of depressed me. I can't say I definitely don't recommend it but I wouldn't put it at the top of the list.


1 comment :

  1. I actually had this book on my "to-read" list, but I may take it off now if it's all serious--I was expecting hilarious like Are You There Vodka It's Me Chelsea!

    ~Tiffany
    http://tiffanyd22.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for stopping by! I love reading & responding to all your comments!