August 31, 2012

Book Club Friday!



This week I'm reviewing:

Welcome to Trenton, New Jersey, home to wiseguys, average Joes, and Stephanie Plum, who sports a big attitude and even bigger money problems (since losing her job as a lingerie buyer for a department store). Stephanie needs cash--fast--but times are tough, and soon she's forced to turn to the last resort of the truly desperate: family.

Stephanie lands a gig at her sleazy cousin Vinnie's bail bonding company. She's got no experience. But that doesn't matter. Neither does the fact that the bail jumper in question is local vice cop Joe Morelli. From the time he first looked up her dress to the time he first got into her pants to the time Steph hit him with her father's Buick, M-o-r-e-l-l-i has spelled t-r-o-u-b-l-e. And now the hot guy is in hot water--wanted for murder.

Abject poverty is a great motivator for learning new skills, but being trained in the school of hard knocks by people like psycho prizefighter Benito Ramirez isn't. Still, if Stephanie can nab Morelli in a week, she'll make a cool ten grand. All she has to do is become an expert bounty hunter overnight--and keep herself from getting killed before she gets her man.

How excited am I that I finally started this series? Extremely. I waited forever thanks to the long hold list at the library but it was so worth it. Suspense, humour, crime & some rom-com all rolled into one makes this a great read that fit my taste perfectly. I literally couldn't put it down, and may or may not have secretly read at my desk at work...Whatever. I totally think y'all should read this regardless of whether you've seen the movie because it is way better (naturally). I did watch the movie immediately afterwards and it was a pretty disappointing but entertaining. I've already started the second one and can tell that's going to be even better! Thanks for the reco Heather!

August 29, 2012

Back to le grind!

So we're back from Chicago *SADZ* but it'll take me a few more days to get the posts organized given that we took about a billion pictures. Doesn't help that this week has been crazy already & shows no signs of letting up! There's a teaser at the bottom though!

On Monday I hate to take my Android in for repairs so I'm stuck with my old Blackberry. Trust me, I quickly remembered why I left the RIM world. Of course work was a disaster in my absence. That's not an attempt to talk myself up - I'm average in the situation, everyone else just seems to lack basic common sense!

The long weekend is coming up as well and you bet that we've got it jam packed with last minute summer things! But as promised, here's the mini teaser:

Michigan Ave / Magnificent Mile
Soldier Field
Yes, that's my game face LOL
Note the top right corner!

Random poses with Barney - we don't even watch HIMYM lol 
More to come!!!

August 17, 2012

Book Club Friday!


This week I'm reviewing:
{via}

Roxanne: glamorous, self-confident, with a secret lover -- a married man
Maggie: capable and high-achieving, until she finds the one thing she can't cope with -- motherhood
Candice: honest, decent, or so she believes -- until a ghost from her past turns up

At the first of every month, when the office has reached its pinnacle of hysteria, Maggie, Roxanne, and Candice meet at London's swankiest bar for an evening of cocktails and gossip. Here, they chat about what's new at The Londoner, the glossy fashion magazine where they all work, and everything else that's going on in their lives. Or almost everything. Beneath the girl talk and the laughter, each of the three has a secret. And when a chance encounter at the cocktail bar sets in motion an extraordinary chain of events, each one will find their biggest secret revealed. In Cocktails for Three, Madeleine Wickham combines her trademark humor with remarkable insight to create an edgy, romantic tale of secrets, strangers, and a splash of scandal.

{via}

This is technically a Sophie Kinsella novel (under a different pen name) who I'm a big fan of, and it did not disappoint. It was slightly different - more friendship and life events than love - but that was refreshing. After a rough day at work, I ended up coming home and finishing the last half of the book and it really helped my mood. I definitely recommend it and it'll be a nice cozy read even after summer is over. :)



August 13, 2012

#MusicMonday

Only 6 more days until our Chicago trip and I cannot wait!

This is what's going to get me through the next 5 work days...



Happy Monday!

August 10, 2012

Book Club Friday!


This week I'm reviewing:
{via}

In the tradition of Cynthia Heimel and Chelsea Handler, and with the boisterous iconoclasm of Amy Sedaris, Julie Klausner's candid and funny debut I Don't Care About Your Band sheds light on the humiliations we endure to find love—and the lessons that can be culled from the wreckage.
I Don't Care About Your Band posits that lately the worst guys to date are the ones who seem sensitive. It's the jerks in nice guy clothing, not the players in Ed Hardy, who break the hearts of modern girls who grew up in the shadow of feminism, thinking they could have everything, but end up compromising constantly. The cowards, the kidults, the critics, and the contenders: these are the stars of Klausner's memoir about how hard it is to find a man—good or otherwise—when you're a cynical grown-up exiled in the dregs of Guyville.

Honestly, I didn't love it. It's not that it was poorly written or anything but I wasn't nearly as good as I had hoped. This has always been the type of book I've wanted to write - though granted, she had many more stories than I do - and reading about others' love mishaps wasn't as exciting as I thought it would be. [Clearly I may need to re-think my future as an author.] The book was more serious than humourous and at times, kind of depressed me. I can't say I definitely don't recommend it but I wouldn't put it at the top of the list.


August 7, 2012

the familiar block

writer's block of course. i doubt there is a single blogger out there who isn't familiar with it. i actually think it's physically (mentally?) impossible to not go through writer's block.

i'm pretty disappointed considering i was on a roll the last few weeks. but my mind has been preoccupied with work and lame life things and unless you want to hear all about that (trust, you don't), then the occasional link up is your best bet. i actually find link ups to be quite great - i get to share my content and see what others think on the same topic. win, win.

there's also been a serious lack on inspiration and I blame that on the lameness around me. nothing too exciting or too rant-worthy. me not being able to rant? the world must be ending.

seeking external inspiration, i took to my blog searches to see what brings some people here. i wish i reviewed this more often because it.is.random.


1. i wrote about Celine Dion once and all of a sudden I'm popping up on searches? i'm honoured.
2. that would be the truth. the blog has spoken about it many times.
3 + 4 + 5. i'm sure glad that i am the go to place for wardrobe malfunctions. that one walk to work sure was eventful!
6 + 7. umm, here i've got nothing. what's a dolman sleeve dress? and i never watched, therefore never talked about, sex & the city so idk what search engine you're using but it's wrong.

i thoroughly enjoyed going through these & will have clearly have to do so more often! but unfortunately i'm still looking for some serious inspiration...

btw, this is an example of a 'dolman sleeve dress'...
[via]
very nice, but i do not own one...


who's got hilarious searches to share?!?

August 3, 2012

The Nail Files!

Go link up with the lovely Tara & Vicki!


As promised in my last Pinterest post, I'm starting to get a bit more creative with my nails. Not to mention painting them at all!